DUI Process Guidelines

Guide for a DUI in Arizona

If you are one of the thousands of Arizonans charged with driving under the influence, you will need to install a Alcohol Interlock device in your vehicle to reinstate driving privileges in Arizona. Arizona Interlocks is a MVD Certified Ignition Interlock Installer.The experience can be confusing and exhausting, especially with the many differences in cases and charges. However, Arizona Interlocks aims to provide useful information to make the experience as clear and simple as possible. Below are the basic guidelines in the DUI process.

DUI First Offence

For the first DUI offence the minimum time in jail is of 10 days.

Costs typically include:

  • DUI Attorney
  • Fines – No less than $1,250
  • Jail costs
  • DUI Classroom/DUI Classes
  • SR-22 insurance costs
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Second DUI Offence

For the second or subsequent offences the minimum time in jail is 90 days. Fines multiply in cost from the first offense substantially.

Costs typically include:

  • DUI Attorney
  • Fines – No less than $3,000
  • Jail costs
  • DUI Classroom/DUI Classes
  • SR-22 insurance costs
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Extreme DUI Offence

First Extreme DUI offense, you will be jailed for no less than 30 days. You will be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment classes and community service.

Costs typically include:

  • DUI Attorney
  • Fines – No less than $2,500
  • Jail costs
  • DUI Classroom/DUI Classes
  • SR-22 insurance costs
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Second Extreme DUI Offence

Second or Subsequent Extreme DUI offense(s), you will be jailed for no less than 90 days. You will be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment classes and community service.

Costs typically include:

  • DUI Attorney
  • Fines – No less than $2,500
  • Jail costs
  • DUI Classroom/DUI Classes
  • SR-22 insurance costs
  • Ignition Interlock Device

Aggravated DUI

An Aggravated DUI applies differently than a DUI. You will be sent to prison for no more than 2 years. You will be required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment classes and community service.

An aggravated requires the driver to either:

  • Commit a DUI with a suspended/revoked/cancelled license
  • Commits a third DUI within 84 months
  • Refuses to submit a blood alcohol content test while under an ignition interlock condition

Arizona Interlocks LLC., does not provide customers with professional legal advice. Please seek legal counsel from a qualified attorney or Contact The Arizona MVD